• Picture of Moodymann Photo provided by


Kenny Dixon Jr., better known by his stage name Moodymann, is an American techno/house musician based in Detroit, Michigan. He is an owner of KDJ Records. He is a member of 3 Chairs along with Theo Parrish, Rick Wilhite and Marcellus Pittman.

In 1997, Moodymann released Silentintroduction, the debut album which compiled previously released tracks, on Planet E Communications. It was followed by Mahogany Brown in 1998. Forevernevermore was released in 2000.

Moodymann released Silence in the Secret Garden on Peacefrog Records in 2003. It was followed by Black Mahogani on the label in 2004. His free EP, Picture This, was released in 2012. He released the seven-track ABCD in 2013. Moodymann, the self-titled album featuring contributions from Amp Fiddler, Andres, and José James, followed in 2014.

Moodymann is considered to have "developed hybrid modes of recording and performance incorporating analog and digital media — the playing of 'real' instruments with 'pushing buttons live'."

In 2011, his "Dem Young Sconies" was chosen by NPR as one of the 10 tracks that define the Detroit techno sound, and Denise Dalphond wrote that Moodymann captured the gritty sound on the track.