Skip to main content


Fetch Moritz Von Oswald Trio


The Moritz von Oswald trio is back with another slice of dubby, jazz and techno-infused explorative electronic music on the ever reliable London-based label Honest Jon's Records. Brilliantly heady stuff.

Moritz von Oswald (Basic Channel, Rhythm & Sound) and his cohorts Sasu Ripatti (aka Vladislav Delay and Luomo) and Max Loderbauer (of Sun Electric fame) are back with their third studio album of improvised mesmerizing electronics. As with all their previous albums „Fetch“ consists of four drawn out pieces, which were recorded in a four hour session nearly a year ago and then cut, overdubbed and edited later. With Tobias Freund (effects), Marc Muelbauer (bass), Sebastian Studnitzky (trumpet) and Jonas Schoen (flute, clarinet and saxophone), they invited a few like-minded musicians into the studio to increase the feeling of a late night jam in a smokey futuristic jazz club full of dubheads. Especially „Jam“ the album’s opener digs deep into jazzy territory, with Schoen and Studnitzky improvising over a dark dubbed out groove. The aptly titled second piece „Dark“ then explores even murkier depths and dubbed out suspense, before von Oswald, Ripatti and Loderbauer unleash „Club,“ their most obvious techno track to date, as a release for all the tension that was building up. The album’s closing piece „Yangissa“ is a polyrhythmic journey full of hypnotic brass sequences and a groove that just won’t stop. It seems as if three is indeed the magic number. With „Fetch“ the Moritz von Oswald Trio has recorded their best and most accomplished album yet.

Sven von Thülen | Jul 9, 2012


0 Comments for this album
Please log in or register to leave a comment
Log In/Register with: Google+